CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

TamTam7: Length Check W/ Pics

+15
NaturalNixon
TheRYL1
Intelligentbeauty
ChrsLvsBks
KinkyNappyHappy
Mandi'sGoneCurly!
BlondeByDesire
LaToya28
poeticlyspkng
rayray19
jeanlouisangel
QuietButterfly
sweetdrk1
krazy coils
tamtam7
19 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

TamTam7:  Length Check W/ Pics Empty TamTam7 Finally Has A Curl Street Journal

Post by tamtam7 23rd December 2010, 2:22 pm

Well, after being on this forum for a year I finally decided to start a Curl Street Journal. At first I didn't know what it was, but once I figured it out I thought it was a good way to chronicle my hair journey.

I have been wearing my hair natural for 11 years now. I decided to begin this journey because I recognized that I had issues with loving and accepting my natural hair texture. I, like many black people, accepted a Eurocentric aesthetic for beauty and thought my hair was ugly. I was told that while I had a "good grade" of hair I needed a perm to make my hair beautiful. I was even told by one black girl that with a perm I have "white people's hair" and that was supposed to be a compliment??? Meanwhile my hair was damaged beyond belief. My hair was so damaged at one point that I literally had a bald spot. I wore a "comb over" for a while until I finally decided to just cut it all off and wore the "Halle Berry" look.