CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Complete newbie for sure!

3 posters

Go down

Complete newbie for sure! Empty Complete newbie for sure!

Post by Tash.ie 18th February 2011, 7:03 am

I recently decided to transition to natural hair. It has been 5 months since my last relaxer and I currently have my hair in box braids in. I have no clue on what to do next, I don't know how to treat my hair or what style I should get while I'm transitioning. I am completely lost and I know I do not want to BC any time soon.
Tash.ie
Tash.ie

Back to top Go down

Complete newbie for sure! Empty Re: Complete newbie for sure!

Post by tashacu02 18th February 2011, 10:41 am

Welcome,

I'm 5 months post as well!! As far as treating your hair, it will be based on trial and error to see what works for your hair. Currently, I shampoo and deep condition my hair twice a month and cowash my hair about twice a week. I am a total product junkie so I have tried and tested a ton of stuff, but what I do love is Aussie moist conditioner for my cowashes and I use my version of kimmaytube leave in conditioner. I usually wear my hair is braid outs, flat double twist outs and today I tried a flexi rod set for the first time and I love it. I'm trying to transition for a least a year so I try different things and different hairstyles. Good luck and happy growing Smile
tashacu02
tashacu02

Back to top Go down

Post by letha 18th February 2011, 11:00 am

For styles check you tube so you can learn how to do the different styles that tashacu02 mentioned.. It is a lot of trial and error to find what works.. As for me when I 1st started I just continuted do what I did when I was relaxed and when I got further into my transition things changed.. I started using conditioner to wash my hair more and shampoo less and less right now I only use shampoo to clarify my hair..