CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ACV substitute

+8
ChrsLvsBks
CurliiMommee
Emartini04
slimwithabs
bpjedi
Annie L
ajsimmons8
crimson0300
12 posters

Go down

ACV substitute Empty ACV substitute

Post by crimson0300 17th January 2011, 2:26 pm

I am VERY new to the going natural. I am a little over 1 month post relaxer. I am trying to learn as much as I can right now. I have started experimenting by making my own natural products. I am really excited about this entire process. I don't have any ACV but I do have white vinegar. I was wondering if the two could be substituted. Is there any advantage of one over the other.

crimson0300

Back to top Go down

ACV substitute Empty Re: ACV substitute

Post by ajsimmons8 21st January 2011, 10:06 pm

Hi Crimson, I have not yet done a ACV rinse, however I haven't read anything saying that you can substitute regular white vinegar for ACV. I would think, and this is just a guess, that the acid in the apple is what causes it to be beneficial. Hopefully, some of the other ladies will chime in.
ajsimmons8
ajsimmons8

Back to top Go down

Post by Annie L 25th January 2011, 7:23 am

Congrats on going natural Crimson!

Yes, the acidic PH of the ACV is what conditions and clarifies your scalp and hair and I must say it is PHENOM! It's my top 2 of leave-ins. I am no expert but have never heard of that substitution and wouldn't bother with it. You can easily Google the differences between the 2 vinegars, but just to let you know, 1 is preferred for hair and the other is used frequently as an all-purpose household/clothes cleanser and deodorizer, lol! Just wait until you get a hold of some ACV and stay true to the recipe that has yielded great results for so many.

Hope this helps!

Annie L

Back to top Go down

Post by bpjedi 26th January 2011, 1:05 pm

@crimson0300